Pumpkin, Inc.

Pumpkin User Forums

TCB Extensions request & questions

If you're having difficulty with Salvo's configuration options, post it here.

TCB Extensions request & questions

Postby Lo_Vaquero » Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:32 am

I have a tcb extension implementation question:

I have multiple tasks that are identical in function, so they can be created from the same function. They each service a different FIFO and they each wait on a different semaphore. Other than that, they are identical.

The basic function is:

function()
{
while(1)
{
OS_WaitSem(...);
// service FIFO
}
}

My question is how can I implement the OS_WaitSem() using tcb extentions where each task waits a differnt OSECBP?

I have tried setting OSTYPE_TCBEXT0 to OStypeEcbP, but ICCAVR doesn't like. The only thing I have been able to think of is to use tcbext0 as an index and use a switch statement, but that doesn't seem correct.

Any ideas or suggestions? This is my first time using tcb extensions, so I apologize if I'm missing something obvoius.

Rodney

[This message has been edited by Lo_Vaquero (edited January 26, 2007).]

Lo_Vaquero

Re: TCB Extensions request & questions

Postby aek » Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:28 am

OStID() always returns an index to uniquely identify the current task -- use when the task is running.

Also note OScTcbExt0|1|2|3|4|5. This returns a pointer to the tcb extension of interest in the current i.e. running task. There's an example of this in the manual (search "OScTcbExt").

In Salvo parlace, the little c (e.g. in OScTcbPExt) stands for "current", as in "currently running".

------------------

-------
aek
aek

Postby aek » Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:30 am

Note that if you have a couple of identical tasks, and each one operates on its own buffer, then as long as you created the tasks and then individually linked the tcb ext in each task to its dedicated buffer, then OScTcbExt is what you need at runtime.

------------------

-------
aek
aek