Pumpkin, Inc.

Pumpkin User Forums

Allowing High Speed Interrupts to run unhindered

If you can't make Salvo do what you want it to do, post it here.

Allowing High Speed Interrupts to run unhindered

Postby aek » Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:28 am

See pp. 8-9 of http://www.pumpkininc.com/content/doc/manual/rm-iar430.pdf.

When you have a critical interrupt that also calls a Salvo service, then an extension of this technique must be used. See the end of http://www.pumpkininc.com/content/doc/press/pumpkin_supsi2005.pdf and http://www.pumpkininc.com/content/doc/press/Pumpkin_MSP430ATC2006.pdf.

------------------

[This message has been edited by aek (edited October 24, 2008).]

-------
aek
aek
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2000 11:00 pm

Re: Allowing High Speed Interrupts to run unhindered

Postby garrett » Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:26 am

Hi Andrew,

I read a few of the forum posts on how to get
Salvo to let time-critical interrupts to run, but I am still fuzzy on the basic syntax to do that... It looks like you changed the mechanism a on how to do that a bit with Salvo ver. 4 ??

I am running the IAR v 4.3 compiler on an MSP430F2618. I am doing a Salvo Pro library build.

I have 3 time critical interrupts:
1. A 120 uSec sampling interrupt on Timer B
that takes and A/D audio sample
2. A UART interrupt that takes PCM coded data from the UART and puts it in a circular buffer.
3. An I2c Master transmitter

Could you be kind enough to post a basic MSP430 example that would show how to guard a time critical interrupt? i.e. My timer B int.

I hope I was clear.
Thanks in advance,

Dave

garrett
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: Cranberry Township PA USA

Re: Allowing High Speed Interrupts to run unhindered

Postby garrett » Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:57 am

Andrew,

Thanks for your reply.
I'm afraid I get a 404 error
on links #1, #3. (dead links) #2 works.

Can you post the current links?

Thanks,

Dave

garrett
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: Cranberry Township PA USA

Re: Allowing High Speed Interrupts to run unhindered

Postby garrett » Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:34 am

Andrew,

Thanks for your reply.
I'm afraid I get a 404 error
on links #1, #3. (dead links) #2 works.

Can you post the current links?

Thanks,

Dave

garrett
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: Cranberry Township PA USA

Re: Allowing High Speed Interrupts to run unhindered

Postby aek » Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:11 am

Damned periods!

Fixed.

------------------

-------
aek
aek
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2000 11:00 pm


Return to Coding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron