Pumpkin, Inc.

Pumpkin User Forums

Interrupt Handling Semaphores?

If you can't make Salvo do what you want it to do, post it here.

Interrupt Handling Semaphores?

Postby Steve Clauter » Sun May 12, 2002 8:56 am

Hello,

I'm just getting started with my first Salvo program of my own making. Basically I've got a C program to take data which I get from an interrupt and store the data in a virtual LCD. That is an LCD built in memory with a few bytes for cursor position and mode.

So I've got an interrupt routine that gets a byte of data, roughly every 1msec, and "signals that new data is available with a semaphore", all in the interrupt routine. I think that's the right way to say it. Anyway is that a good thing to do? Or should I make some other event to signal the Virtual LCD task that new data is available?

Thanks for any assistance.

Steve

Steve Clauter

Re: Interrupt Handling Semaphores?

Postby aek » Mon May 13, 2002 6:59 am

Hi Steve.

Using a BinSem (not a Sem) is a perfectly valid way to do what you propose. At 200ns per instruction cycle, inerrupts every 1ms signaling that new LCD data is available will work fine.

Please Note:

The one distinct advantage of signaling directly from the ISR is that the order of signaled events will be preserved -- i.e. if you're waiting for two interrupt-driven events to happen, then the events will be processed in the order they occur.

The only disadvantage is that OSSignalBinSem() does take a while, and may adversely impact an extremely time-critical ISR. But in general, that won't be an issue.